Pasta chips

I was in the middle of writing my thesis when this appetite for some snack surfaces. I’m all out of chips, and the weather is just too cold for lazy me to leave the house. I suddenly thought of this deep fried pasta chips I’ve always had back in Vietnam, a snack that is usually sold in front of school’s gates. So off to the kitchen I went. The result is very delicious: the pasta is crunchy, seasoned exactly to my liking, and even though the pasta is deep fried, it doesn’t have that greasy feeling at all. I can eat a basketful of these chips in no time!

I made up this pasta chips recipe back when I was in my Master program in Bristol, Mattou was visiting me and I wanted to have some snack for our movie afternoon. This dish is pretty fast and simple to make, with easy to find ingredients, and I think it would be a very good choice for house parties.

Pasta chips 1

Công thức tiếng Việt: Nui chiên giòn

* Ingredients:

  • 150g Farfalle
  • Salt
  • Chili powder
  • Garlic powder

* Directions:

1. In a sauce pan bring water to a boil (the amount of water should be enough to completely cover the pasta). Reduce the heat to medium-high and cook the pasta for 20 minutes. Stirring once in a while to prevent pasta from sticking to the bottom of the pan.

ingredients1150g Farfalle

StarNote : I use Farfalle since I have a package in my pantry, but you can try and experiment with different kinds of pasta.

2. Drain the pasta and run under cold water to stop the cooking. Put the cooked pasta on several layers of paper towel to drain off excess water. When the pasta is still a bit wet, transfer to a mixing bowl and start to season according to your taste.

ingredients1Salt; garlic powder; chili powder

You can play around with the seasoning in this step. For instance you can add pepper, cinnamon powder, etc. If you want to use dried herbs then it is best to sprinkle them on the pasta after you’ve finished frying and they’re still piping hot, since I think these herbs will lose their flavours if you fry them in oil, and they can be easily burnt as well.

3. In a medium sauce pan add enough oil to completely cover the pasta. Put on medium heat, test if the oil is hot enough by dipping one pasta in the oil, if you see small bubbles form around the pasta then it is ready. Fry cooked pasta in small batches (I fried 10-15 pasta at a time, although this can varies according to the size of your pan). Drop the pasta one at a time and use a wooden spoon to give it a nudge so it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan.

4. When the pasta is golden brown (mine takes about 1-1,5 minutes), use a slotted spoon to take them out and put on several layers of paper towel to drain off the excess oil. Let cool and enjoy. These chips can be kept in a sealed container for up to 2 weeks (although they never last that long for me  tongue)

Pasta chips 2

Happy cooking big grin

2 thoughts on “Pasta chips

  1. Pingback: Nui chiên giòn | Miamivores

Leave a Reply

