Watermelon & Passionfruit lassi

French weather can be very fussy at times. For instance, recently it is usually a bit chilly in the morning until 9-10 o’clock, to the point that I would have t wear a light jacket if I want to go out, and then suddenly at around 11-12 the sun would be up and shining, and the temperature would be more or less 30°C. Fussy weather, together with the fact that I just got robbed on the street, really makes my mood going downhill.

With both the weather and my mood being not good like that, I can only think about making finding something nice a refreshing to cool down when I go to the supermarket, and of course the fruits and yogurt shelves become that much more inviting, especially when the watermelons are in season, and they are all so ripe and juicy. Walking back from the supermarket, my bag is filled with a small watermelon, a few passion fruits and some yogurt. Combing home, I went straight to the kitchen and start chopping, a few swirl of the blender and I finally had my refreshing drink.

I made a big cup like in the photo, with a few spoonfuls left in the blender. The leftover is of course taken care of right after wink this big cup is saved for after dinner, when I have showered, sit on the part of the bed near the desk, and enjoyed the drink while watching Friends. All my worries and bad moods seem to be washed away with the light sweetness of the watermelon, combined with the slight acidity of the passionfruit and the freshness of the mint leaves, life just suddenly becomes so much nicer.

Watermelon lassi 2_copy

Công thức tiếng Việt: Lassi Dưa hấu & Chanh leo

* Ingredients:

  • 300gr watermelon
  • 2 passionfruits
  • 125gr plain yogurt
  • 3 mint leaves
  • 2 tablespoon honey/sugar (adjust to taste)

Ingredients 2_copy

* Directions:

1. Peel and chop watermelon. Half the passionfruits, use a spoon to scrape out the inside and push through a sieve to get the juice.

ingredients1300gr watermelon; 2 passionfruits

2. Put the watermelon, passionfruit juice and the rest of the ingredients in the blender and blend.

ingredients1125gr yogurt; 3 mint leaves; 2 tablespoon honey

Watermelon lassi 3_copy

I put it in the fridge before drinking so I didn’t use any ice, plus my blender is not powerful enough to process ice cubes. But if you want to drink it right away and own a more powerful blender you can add some ice cubes and increase the honey/sugar accordingly big grin

Watermelon lassi 1_copy

These passionfruits are imported from my country, Vietnam, so I thought that they deserve their own photo tongue

Ingredients 1_copy

2 thoughts on “Watermelon & Passionfruit lassi

  1. Pingback: Lassi Dưa hấu & Chanh leo | Miamivores

Leave a Reply

