“What’s in my fridge?” lunch box

So I’ve officially started my student life, yet again. Last Friday was ‘back to school’ day (this makes me feel like I’m in elementary or middle school :p), and although the day did not consist of any class I still had to come for almost the whole day, from 9am to 4pm, to be introduced to all the classes, do some paper works, have a library tour, etc. I didn’t want to spend money for lunch, so I’ve decided to bring my own and heat it up with the microwave.

This post is more like an idea-sharing for a lunch box, because there is not really any part of this box that is worth a full-on recipe. I came to Grenoble only the afternoon before my school starts, so I didn’t have a lot of time to shop for food, and I was a bit tired from the train ride so I didn’t want to cook anything too time-consuming. This lunh box truly contains everything I can find in my fridge at that moment, still, I tried to have a lunch box that is both delicious and nutritious.

Lunch box

Bài viết tiếng Việt: Cơm hộp “Tủ lạnh còn gì nấu nấy”

This lunch box consists of:

  • Rice
  • Poached green beans and zucchini + dipping sauce
  • Fried sausages
  • Fried egg

All very simple right? For harricot vert and zucchini, I brought the water to a boil and then drop in the vegetable, wait for the water to boil again and immediately take the vegetable out. I poached the sausage and then quickly fried it. The egg is lightly beaten, seasoned with a bit of salt and pepper, and fried on medium heat. The dipping sauce was made with 2 teaspoon of water + 2 teaspoon of soy sauce + 2 teaspoon of lemon juice + ½ teaspoon of sugar, I made it according to my taste so you can adjust to suit your liking. I made the rice, poach the vegetable and the sausage the evening before, and the morning before going to school, I quickly fried the sausage and the egg, it really took no time at all. I prefer my vegetable to be crunchy so I slightly under-poached it, so it can finish cooking in the microwave when I reheat the whole thing big grin

When I was in Paris my place was always far from school, it usually takes 1 hour to travel so I usually am in a hurry in the morning to make it to class on time. Now that my house is much closer to the school, and I have more time to prepare a lunch box that suits my taste, I feel so happy ^^

One thought on ““What’s in my fridge?” lunch box

  1. Pingback: Cơm hộp “Tủ lạnh còn gì nấu nấy” | Miamivores

Leave a Reply

