Banana & coconut milk sweet soup

Last week, Matthias came to Grenoble for his study. A few days before his arrival, I went to do some grocery for ingredients to cook dishes that I don’t normally cook alone. This time I went to a fruit store that I’ve passed by a few times, and I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality and the very reasonable prices. I even found out that they sell mini bananas, which I don’t often see a lot, so I just had to buy a small bushel, and from the store back to my house, I can only think of the warm and sweet banana coconut sweet soup.

When I studied in England, the Vietnamese supermarket there sells these mini bananas from times to times, and I would usually buy them to make this sweet soup, which was liked a lot by my housemates. However due to the transportation, the bananas are often badly bruised, a bushel of almost 10 bananas sometimes yield only 2-3 that can be used for the pudding, and for 4 people it’s really a treasure hunt for the banana pieces in a ‘sea’ of coconut milk and tapioca pearls laughing This store’s mini bananas are very nice and ripe, so a pot of the sweet soup is more than enough for Matthias and me, the bananas are so fragranced. I was busy with a presentation last week, so it took me long to share the recipe with you guys.

Banana sweet soup 2

Công thức tiếng Việt: Chè chuối nước cốt dừa

timer_318-10184 Preparation time: 15 minutes

_318-698 Cooking time: 20-25 minutes

 Servings: 2 people

* Ingredients:

  • 3 mini bananas
  • 200ml coconut milk
  • ½ tablespoon small tapioca pearls
  • Sugar (to taste)

* Directions:

1. Soak tapioca pearls in cold water for 15 minutes, then drain well.

ingredients1½ tablespoon small tapioca pearls

Banana sweet soup progress 1

2. While soaking the tapioca, heat the coconut milk in a saucepan, add sugar to your taste and bring to a boil. When the coconut milk is boiled, add the tapioca pearls, reduce the heat to medium and simmer until the tapioca pearls turn transparent.

ingredients1200ml coconut milk; sugar

Banana sweet soup progress 2

3. Peel bananas and slice into 0,5cm-thick slices, add the banana in the coconut milk mixture, use a spoon to gently stir and adjust the taste to your liking. Simmer for 5 more minutes and turn off the heat.

ingredients13 mini bananas

This sweet soup is best serve hot. The banana turns soft and very sweet, together with the coconut milk and the mini tapioca pearls, they are just perfect. Having a warm bowl of sweet soup in this cold weather is a true happiness, really.

Banana sweet soup

You guys should really give it a try wink

2 thoughts on “Banana & coconut milk sweet soup

  1. Pingback: Chè chuối nước cốt dừa | Miamivores

Leave a Reply

