Southern Vietnamese style beef ragout

I really love Vietnamese southern style beef ragout, with a lot of sauce to eat with rice or bread. When I was in Vietnam, whenever my mom made this dish I would eat much more rice than usual, because it is so good that only rice with the sauce would be heavenly delicious. There was this one time I had a small injury on my leg, and my friends told me not to eat any beef dish because it can make the injury becomes a keloid scar (it’s an Asian thing tongue), so I was scared and was extra careful, but one time my mom made this dish for lunch and I immediately dived in laughing my injury did become a keloid scar, but fortunately it’s quite light-colored so it’s not too noticeable.

Beef ragout 3

I’m still not sure if my scar really was caused by that one lunch with beef, but beef ragout still remains one of my favorite dishes. Ever since I came to France, where there are more cold than warm days, I crave even more for this dish. When I started learning how to cook, this was one of my must-learn dishes. After a few trials, I was finally able to come up with a recipe that is both delicious and simple, especially for ‘study-abroaders’ like me. Even Matthias loves this dish, and he still asks me to do it from times to times.

Beef ragout

Công thức tiếng Việt: Bò ragu/Bò kho kiểu miền Nam

timer_318-10184 Preparation time: 1 – 8 hour (marinating time)

_318-698 Cooking time: 1 hour 30 mins – 2 hours

 Servings: 4-5 people

* Ingredients:

A. Marinating the beef

  • 400g beef shank
  • 1 cloved of garlic, minced (can be substituted with 1 teaspoon of garlic powder)
  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 tablespoons pineapple juice
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon sugar

luck Oil and pineapple juice help tenderizing the beef. You can skip the pineapple juice if you don’t have it on hands.

luck Beef shank is called carotte de boeuf in French, you can also use plat de côte, or in my case I bought bourguignon and it was very nice as well.

B. For the sauce

  • 1 tablespoon oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 70g concentrated tomato
  • 600ml water
  • 300ml pine apple juice
  • 1-2 potatoes
  • 1 carrot
  • Salt, pepper, sugar

luck You can replace concentrated tomato with 300g of fresh tomatoes, cut into wedges, simmer with a bit of oil and water, then pass it through a sieve to discard the skin and the seeds, keep only the smooth meat sauce.

luck I added pineapple juice to tenderize the meat faster, and the sweet and sour taste of the juice fits this sauce as well. You can replace it with coconut juice or use only water.

* Directions:

1. Rinse the beef and cut into 3 x 3cm cubes. Marinate the beef with all the ingredients in part A, minimum 1 hour. It’s best to leave it overnight.

ingredients1400g beef shank; 1 cloved of garlic, minced; 1 tablespoon oil; 2 tablespoons pineapple juice; 1 teaspoon salt; 1 teaspoon pepper; 1 teaspoon sugar

12348511_10153470854890186_456120980_n

2. Heat some oil in a saucepan on high heat, stir-fry the minced garlic until fragranced, add the beef and stir-fry until it’s partly cooked on the outside.

ingredients11 tablespoon oil; 2 cloves of garlic, minced

Beef ragout process 1

3. Add the concentrated tomato, water and pineapple juice, bring to a boil and skim any foam that rises up. Reduce the heat to low and partly cover the pan, simmer until the beef is tender.

ingredients170g concentrated tomato; 600ml water; 300ml pine apple juice

Beef ragout process 2

4. While waiting for the beef to cook, chop carrot and potatoes into cubes. When the beef is soft, drop the carrot in first for 10 minutes then add the potatoes, season to your taste and continue to simmer until these 2 vegetables are cooked.

ingredients11-2 potatoes; 1 carrot; Salt, pepper, sugar

Beef ragout process 3

luck I used a normal stove and saucepan so it took me around 1 hour for the beef, 20-30 minutes for the vegetables, 1 hour and a half in total. If you have a pressure cooker this would be much faster.

Beef ragout 4

Beef ragout can be served with many dishes. The starch in the potatoes will thicken the sauce while cooking so it’s suitable to eat with rice or bread, if you want to thicken the sauce more you just have to take a piece of potato, mash it and stir into the sauce. If you want to serve this dish with rice noodles, replace the potatoes with white radish and add more water so the sauce is thinner.

Beef ragout 2

Have a nice week everyone wink

One thought on “Southern Vietnamese style beef ragout

  1. Pingback: Bò ragu/Bò kho kiểu miền Nam | Miamivores

Leave a Reply

