Salted egg yolks & Chinese sausage fried rice

I’ve just got back to Grenoble for a few days, and I’ve brought with me a sore throat and a runny nose from Paris. Because I’m still a bit tired, I don’t want to cook anything too complicated, and I have a sudden urge for a bowl of fried rice. I open my freezer and there were a package of Chinese sausage and some salted egg yolks that I’ve preprocessed, and I also have some lard left from making Vietnamese caramelized pork dip.

I cooked some rice, and while waiting for the rice to cool down I chopped up my Chinese sausage and defrost the salted egg yolk, and after a short while I had my bowl of steaming fried rice. The richness of the salted egg yolks goes really well with the rice and Chinese sausage, and fried rice using lard is wayyy better than using normal cooking oil

12939633_10153731156455186_335411108_n

I’ve introduced tips and tricks on making a good fried rice in my Seafood fried rice recipe, so I will only quickly summarize the cooking steps.

Công thức tiếng Việt: Cơm rang lạp xưởng  trứng muối

* Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of cooked rice, cooled
  • 1 Chinese sausage
  • 4 salted egg yolks (how to make and preprocess here)
  • 1 tablespoon lard
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Soy sauce

* Directions:

1. Preparing ingredients: Mince the garlic. Slice the Chinese sausage into 2-3mm thick slices. Mash the salted egg yolks and mix with 2 tablespoon of water.

2. Put the pan and heat on high heat and melt the lard. Add the minced garlic and Chinese sausage slices, fry until the garlic releases its aroma and turn golden brown.

3. Add the rice and toss so that the lard evenly coat the rice. Add the salted egg yolk and toss to evenly distribute, season with soy sauce to your preference and serve hot.

11418461_10153731156485186_2018045635_n

Bon appétit everyone ^^

One thought on “Salted egg yolks & Chinese sausage fried rice

  1. Pingback: Cơm rang lạp xưởng trứng muối | Miamivores

Leave a Reply

